Alcaeus: Ancient Oak Cellars

I’m not a wine connoisseur, and not a fan of dry wines. Still, I like to try new things – who knows when you’ll have a great experience, and discover something new? So when I had the opportunity to try this at Kappy’s Fine Wine & Spirits in Medford, MA, I was happy to explore.

alcaeus-ancient-oak-cellars

This is a Cabernet Franc, one of the major black grape varieties. One doesn’t generally see it on its own; it is usually part of a blend. They are generally lighter than a Cabernet Sauvignon. This expression is from a family winery in Santa Rosa, California – Sonoma County. It certainly had a pleasant, subtle, fruity nose. But I ended up tasting the tannins more than anything else. That’s not a knock – I’m upfront about my ignorance of the topic. Someone who likes Cab Francs might love this. Just not my thing.

Ancient Oak Cellars.com 

Leave a Reply

