Eagle Rare

Eagle Rare Kentucky straight bourbon whiskey

Buffalo Trace Distillery

Aged 10 years in charred American White Oak barrels. 90 proof.

Tastes sweet, and a little tart. Smooth body, well balanced.  I’m a big fan of Weller products, especially from Mash bill #2 and their wheated mash bill, but I haven’t been as much of a fan of their Mash bill #1 line, of which Eagle Rare is one. But I must say, of all the mash bill #1 whiskies from Buffalo Trace, I like this the most.

Eagle Rare

I ran a comparative tasting of Eagle Rare along with Woodford Reserve and Col. E. H. Taylor Small Batch Bourbon.  Woodford reserve just edged out Eagle Rare – and for my palate, both easily outdid the usually higher-reviewed Col. E. H. Taylor.

Eagle Rare Col E H Taylor Woodford Reserve

One comment

  1. […] Also reviewed previously on my blog, Eagle Rare is quite nice on the front palate, yet I’m not much enjoying the back palate quite as much.  Tastes sweet, and a little tart. Smooth body, well balanced. I’m a big fan of Weller products, especially from Mash bill #2 and their wheated mash bill, but I haven’t been as much of a fan of their Mash bill #1 line, of which Eagle Rare is one. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

